Femininity Is Overrated

So if you Google the word femininity, the definition it comes up with is; ‘the quality of being female; womanliness. Still, I have no idea what that means.

Femininity to me is something completely different to that. I joke all the time about being so ‘unfeminine’. But really I am, in a more I don’t give a s**t kind of way. Don’t get me wrong I always have makeup on and I take a ridiculous amount of time, picking out what I want to wear every morning (purely because I want to be a stylist) but other than that, there’s nothing. My idea of femininity is being lairy, drinking beer and taking advantage of the fact I’m a girl (basically, being confident).

Until today I never really thought about being  feminine or a feminist, nor have I ever thought it’s something that should be fort about or is just something to do with lesbians. I think we all have that preconception that if we aren’t feminine enough we’ll never have a boyfriend or we’ll be protesting in the streets of London.. topless. I understand that most people also have double standards for girls, women too. But why? If I drink beer and joke about sex openly does that mean I should be a man or does it just mean that I’m comfortable with who I am and should carry on with being who I am.

The number of times I’ve heard the words “act more ladylike” or “sometimes I think you should’ve been a boy”. It doesn’t really bother me. Like yeah, cool! I burped or I had a pint of Stella (who gives a f**k). At the end of the day, being a woman does mean that we have a right to be confident but also push each other, rather than being so s**tty toward each other.

This was kind of a random post, but scrolling through Instagram and Tumblr, reading people’s comments and just generally looking at posts, I thought it wouldn’t hurt to post something that people seems to complain about rather than take advantage of. So stop being silly. Take off your bra, sit on the sofa with your hair done or your rollers in, with your heels on and have a print whilst you watch Eastenders tonight. AND.. if anyone asks you “what the hell are you doing”, make sure you reply with something sassy and slightly cheeky (or just tell them to f**k off).

Twitter: Kulraj_pooni

Instagram: Kulrajkpooni

Leave a Reply

