Gin & Platonic?

When you’re twenty something, it starts to dawn on you that you either find someone soon or you’re destined to become a spinster sister with your best friend. Pretty scary, especially when you’re near the capital and have instead taken up a less social approach to life, leaving you in this predicament .

Being younger and meeting cool people was easy. You go on a night out, meet a few people and you hit it off and continue drinking, until someone does something they later regret. But that’s difficult when you move to a small town outside of London, with the percentage of the population being over 50. Don’t get me wrong oldies are goldies.. but only if they’re Harrison Ford!

Sometimes, it gets to a point in life, when you fell as though you’re stuck in a bit of a rut. A big fat hole of no love, kind of rut.

For some, Tinder is a feasible option. If I’m honest though, I don’t think I’d be cut out for bazaar interactions with random people, without a few shots. You never know how that’s going to end..

Moving near the big city, I thought I’d finally get a chance to find a whole bunch of fun acquaintances. I must admit, I have met some great people and definitely some friends for life, but it’s one of those situations where friendships are either platonic (all of mine) or you have to work your way around the opposite sex to find the right one (which I can tell you just from watching, DOES NOT END WELL).

For the majority of us, it’s a pretty difficult job meeting potential suitors. University is definitely the place to meet new people but it does get difficult. Whilst trying to juggle hand-ins, that we all do the night before, having some sort of social life and doing so with no money to really spend, dating ends up on the back burner. But, for those few lucky ones that manage to find relationships at university or somehow keep long distance relationships going, the rest of us end up lying in bed watching Netflix and spooning pillows (speaking mainly for myself).

Living as a student I have definitely realised how lonely it can get and how daunting the idea of dating seems. Especially when you’re the ‘old lady’ within the groups of friends. Sometimes we can let our hair down and dance on tables, but for the most part, having a brew and keeping a to-do list is much more exciting. But where does that leave us?

One must admit, even though becoming a spinster seems like it could potentially be fun, I sometimes can’t help notice that each year a birthday passes, as does another year of disappointment in my love life. I can’t say that I’m too surprised though really, because I’d probably choose my gal pals over a date.

For the time being, I may have to stick to booze and my favourite babes to get me through the biggest boy draught the world has potentially ever seen.  As for my parents wanting grand kids one day.. well, you’ve got other kids.

 

Leave a Reply

